Friday, January 29, 2016

Google Drive files - How to transfer ownership

If you create a file in Google Docs, Sheets, Slides or upload a file into Drive, you are the 'owner' by default. What does this mean? There are essentially three kinds of users in Google Drive: owner, editor, and viewer. Although most users are able to view and edit a single document, there can only be one individual owner at a time. Being an owner of files, even pdfs or other other file types, counts against your 30 GB quota if you are on regular Google Apps (not unlimited) - this is a good enough reason to transfer ownership of files to stay under your storage limit.  Here is a chart outlining each type of user-privilege in Drive and what sets them apart from one another:
As illustrated in the chart above, the highest right an owner has over their files and folders is the ability to delete and transfer ownership. There are two kinds of ownership transfers: transferring ownership of single documents and transferring ownership of all documents collectively.

Transferring ownership of single documents in Google Drive

1. In Drive open the Doc, Sheet, Slides, file, or folder that you'd like to transfer the ownership of.
2. At the top right corner of the screen click the blue Share button as shown in the image below.
3. Click Advanced in the bottom right of the sharing box.
4. Type the email address of the person you want to transfer ownership to and click OK. (You can choose to send them a notification by checking off the Notify button)
5. Once their name appears under 'who has access', click the 'Can edit' drop down menu next to their name and assign 'Is owner'.

6. Click Done.

Transferring ownership of all documents in Google Drive: 

If you're an administrator for your Google Apps domain, you can transfer ownership of all documents in Drive from one user to another. Being able to transfer ownership of all documents can be useful in the event of an original owner leaving the organization. It's important to note that once a user is deleted from the domain, their documents cannot be transferred. The good news is that administrators are able to restore the account for five days and transfer the documents that way.

1. Sign-in to the Google Admin console.
2. Go to Apps > Google Apps > Drive.
3. Click Transfer Ownership.
4. Complete the Document ownership transfer section:

5. In the Form field, enter the username of the current owner and select the user's domain.
6. In the To field, enter the username of the new owner and select the user's domain.
7. Click Transfer documents to save.

Once this is done, the newly transferred documents are automatically organized in a single new folder, titled with the previous owner's email address, in the new owner's Drive. The original owner will maintain editing privileges until their account is deleted or their edit permissions are revoked.

You can find additional details directly from Google's support page. If you need assistance, training, or support for you Google Apps, be sure to contact our InterlockIT team!